LTC News - EL Training Team

LTC News Updates


Every other year (appropriately, the odd years), the Texas Legislature meets and laws change. Recently, we have been fortunate to see mostly positive changes in the LTC (License To Carry) laws. Below are the highlights relevant to the LTC. Please feel free to Contact Us with any questions you may have. (Click the Bill Number to read the actual law.)

LatestNews
All Relevant Laws Now In Effect
(Details at 85th Reg Session and 84th Reg Session below)

From the 85th Regular Session (2017) of the Texas Legislature:

  • 85(R) Overall (effective 01 Sep 2017):
    • 85(R) HB435 Creates ability of a State Hospital to deny carry by LTC Holder, and
      Creates new sign to inform LTC Holders of prohibition (Sec 552.002, HSC);
    • 85(R) HB1935 Redefines "illegal knife" to "location-restricted knife" as a blade of over 5.5"(we can now carry a long blade, except in certain specific locations);
    • 85(R) HB3784 Creates Approved Online Course Provider for LTC classroom portion;
    • 85(R) SB16 Reduces the standard LTC Application and Renewal Fee to $40;
    • 85(R) SB263 Removes the minimum caliber requirement for LTC proficiency portion; and,
    • 85(R) SB1566 Removes the school employee exception for securing firearms on school parking.

From the 84th Regular Session (2015) of the Texas Legislature:

  • 84(R) Overall:
    • Changes the wording of the 30.06 Sign to address Concealed Carry ONLY;
    • Creates a 30.07 Sign to address Open Carry ONLY (see below);
    • 84(R) HB554 Creates a defense to prosecution if LTC holder carried into secured area of airport, but left when asked; and,
    • 84(R) SB273 Creates a civil penalty for Wrongful Exclusion Of LTC Holder by a state agency or any political subdivision.
  • 84(R) HB910 Open Carry (effective 01 Jan 2016):
    What would seem to be self-explanatory has confused many people.
    • Must have a current TX LTC or another state's equivalent license recognized by the State of Texas;
    • If not concealed, firearm must be in a belt holster or shoulder holster; and,
    • Unless prohibited by 30.07 Sign, can carry openly most places you can carry concealed.
  • 84(R) SB11 Campus Carry (except as noted below, effective 01 Aug 2016):
    Being a new law, there is naturally some confusion here as well.
    • Must have a current TX LTC or another state's equivalent license recognized by the State of Texas;
    • Firearm must be concealed (no open carry on campus);
    • Applies only to public, 4-year Institutions (Jr Colleges effective 01 Aug 2017);
    • Authorizes establishment of rules and regs regarding storage of handguns on campus;
    • Requires establishment of reasonable rules and regs on carrying handguns in specific locations; and,
    • Authorizes 30.06 Signage to be posted where carry of handguns is not allowed.


Please feel free to Contact Us with any questions you may have.



TX DPS Handgun Licensing

Texas Department of Public Safety (TX DPS) administers the Handgun Licensing Program, licenses individuals to carry handguns within Texas, evaluates the eligibility of applicants through criminal history background checks and monitors those currently licensed to ensure their continued eligibility. DPS also trains and certifies instructors who teach the required course to applicants.

Some Most-Used Links: